cJoshua1:5

Baptism of the heart

Posted by cjoshua15 on March 5, 2007

I heard a very good lesson on baptism in the church. What a blessing to know we can be washed of our sins because of a great God that sacrificed His Son to die for us. In addition to the baptism as a cleansing after our salvation I began to think of the baptism of the heart on a more frequent basis. I know my heart gets heavy, it gets dirty, it clogs up with the world and it needs a bath. The board game Operation has been my analogy of the Holy Spirit in us. The game allows a player to carefully remove parts of a body as if being a doctor and performing an operation. I have found that I can describe the Holy Spirit as a vase in the game. It belongs next to our heart and sometimes it gets removed or we cap the top to it and stop it from being filled. Either way, when this part of my life is not being filled I get greatly out of sync with everything else. Getting a baptism of the heart and allowing that to fill the Holy Spirit vase in my life is such a refreshing thing. Everyone has there own way of getting there but ultimately it is surrendering to the will of a mighty God and allowing Him to fill that. I do not want to be anything other than what my God wants of me and I know my self gets in the way of that sometimes, but filling that spot brings me back to a place that God overflows His blessings in my life and I am so very thankful that He allows me to join Him in that dwelling place. Lift praise to Him and His glory for He is mighty and the pitcher waiting to be poured out in our Holy Spirit vases. Operation Game

I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.
Matthew 1:8

Leave a Reply

 
