cJoshua1:5

Nets

Posted by cjoshua15 on September 29, 2006

There has been a lot of talk lately at church about reaching the lost.  I know that should be a normal part of church but maybe it is just me hearing something a little louder than normal.  God has a way of doing that before He extracts the 2×4 from his lumber yard.  The fishing net thing has really been on my mind.  Matthew reveals the nets used when Jesus called Peter and Andrew to be fishers of men.  They changed the use of their nets.  In John, Jesus filled their nets with fish when they thought there was no more to catch.

My net a lot of time is the size of a goldfish bowl net.  I’m not throwing it anywhere and if I did it isn’t going far from me.  I’m not leaving my comfort zone and heaving with all my might to toss a net away from me.  There is nothing required of me that God hasn’t given me the ability to do but I have set limitations or laziness has taken over, both of which I am responsible for the hindrance on God’s work.

This isn’t a Peter Piper type of thing where I lead and they will follow, it is about souls being saved because I have turned to face the people God wants to come to Him.  I have to work for Him and put the backbone into tossing the net.  I know I don’t possess the pied piper capability but with some work and prayer, the net could be enlarged to encompass a larger portion of my vicinity for God.

One Response to “Nets”

  1. Dolan said

    You know when Jesus filled the nets to the breaking point, there was a team working together to accomplish a common goal. When Jesus sent the disciples out he sent them out two by two not individually. God always equips those He calls to His service. You are not in this alone. You don’t have to cast the net by yourself. As long as we depend on God’s power and wisdom, we will be willing team members in reaching the lost. See you Monday night. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
