cJoshua1:5

The time has come…

Posted by cjoshua15 on June 19, 2006

Have you heard those words? What do you associate them with? Have you ever had to say those words? What made you say them? How do you know the time has come for anything? Do you sense it in your heart? Is there something in your surroundings that make you think that?

I can remember when I left my last job, it just felt like I had existed past my time and it was time for me to move on. There were so many things that just didn’t feel right anymore and it was as if I was an outsider. I now know I was an outsider. God was moving me on. I had just accepted Christ and He was moving me from those things that might move me from Him. When it comes to being a believer do we find times when we have to say it is time to move on? I have seen ministerial staff make those decisions for various reasons and go on about their mission for God or other things. Church members that have found themselves leaving and moving on for their own personal reasons. If we stay beyond what God calls of us and don’t move on are we being disobedient to Him? Most people don’t like to hear someone say, “The time has come for …” Maybe we need to be more understanding of that in their lives, I know that abiding by those decisions is sometimes more painful for them than for us. Realizing that those decisions, that are God driven, will be to further His kingdom and we will adapt and go on. And it will make us better people when the hurt is over.

Christ told the disciples that “The time has come for me to go and prepare a place that you may live with me forever”. They didn’t want Him to leave but look at what it gave all of humanity in that one statement. We may not have that kind of affect on the world but on the world around us immediately it could make a difference in our ministry for Him.

Just had to do my daily check to see if I am where God wants me and doing what He wants me to do. Are you where God wants you? Are you doing what God wants you to do? Has the time come for some kind of change?

2 Responses to “The time has come…”

  1. Deanna said

    I heard someone recently say, “All endings are also beginnings. We just don’t know it at the time.”
    It seems overly simplistic but it is very true.
    If we stay beyond where God has called us then we are not moving in the (new) direction that He is leading so that would be disobedience. It helps sometimes for me to remember that there are seasons in our life for certain things and certain relationships. It kind of alternates between seasons being too short or too long.
    The great thing about persevering through the rough or uncertain seasons is that God ALWAYS has a purpose and a plan for the next “season”. We never arrive at a different place with Him to find Him flipping a coin to decide which direction to take us.

  2. Bill said

    That is the most comforting idea to me when it is time to leave a church. I feel sad, I don’t want to go, I wrestle with the idea that somehow that church will do better if I stay, but then I always come back to the idea that it is time. And if I don’t go, then whoever God is preparing won’t be able to come and continue.

Leave a Reply

 
