cJoshua1:5

Arrested

Posted by cjoshua15 on June 13, 2006

My daughter was telling me that she was listening to a group of kids compare stories of their parents being arrested for stupid stuff a long time ago.  When they got to her she was proud to say that her mom had never been arrested.  She thought that was a great accomplishment.  I was ashamed when I had to tell her of the fact that just because I wasn’t arrested doesn’t mean there weren’t times when I could have been.  Not for anything like murder.  I’m glad my daughter is proud of me, but I don’t want to miss the opportunity for her to learn from my mistakes.

Not being caught in a sin doesn’t mean there is no punishment for it.  I believe that I received punishment for my actions here on earth and will be held accountable for it when I meet my Jesus in Heaven.  Our actions and reactions are not always visible to people but God sees it all.  What we think we got away with here will be ours to answer for when life on this earth is done.

The great thing about all of it is that we don’t have to suffer the death for our sins because Christ took those nails for us.  God’s grace and mercy have gotten me this far in life and I have taken responsibility for my actions and accepted the punishment.  With an awesome God in my life those times of empty praying to not get caught or stopped or arrested have been removed as long as I keep those things that provoke sin to exist out of my life.  Once is a mistake, twice is a tradition.  I can’t afford the tradition to become part of my life anymore.  I cannot say that I will never sin, that is a sin itself, I am human, but I can make decisions that will help keep sin to a minimal and then be big enough to accept when I have sinned and repent asking forgiveness.  I am thankful for a loving and forgiving God that can transform even a sinner like me.  It is a good thing the transformation continues, I would hate to get stagnant in my faith and in my life.

Leave a Reply

 
