cJoshua1:5

Real or Fake?

Posted by cjoshua15 on May 19, 2006

Wednesday nights have been really great at church the past few weeks. Our pastor has allowed anyone at the beginning of prayer meeting to ask Biblical questions. This has been very informative and folks were kind of shy at first but have opened up and I believe even thought about this during the week before the next Wednesday to have another question ready. It isn’t to stump the pastor but to have a better understanding of some structure and content arrangement of the Bible or whatever else they come up with. A humble aspect of this is the response to uncertainty from the pastor in a promise to find the appropriate answer rather than make it up or dismiss it.

Sunday morning I was flipping through the channels before church to see what was on and came across a preacher on some off channel that was speaking about knowledge of the Bible and how much do folks really KNOW versus how much they have HEARD. He made a great analogy to that of a one dollar bill. If someone asked you could you tell if the dollar was a real one or not most folks could say yes because they have seen it so many times? But, handed a one hundred dollar bill, most folks couldn’t tell you if it was real or not because they haven’t been in contact with it as much, if at all. They might be able to give the general information about the bill but to tell if it was authentic or not was another thing. I have found myself that same way with the Bible. I have heard the stories and can repeat them okay, but the real Word, maybe not so well. The attention to detail I have missed on so many things in the Bible. I am studying but those books that I haven’t gotten to yet; I couldn’t tell you much, if anything, about them. Even the ones I have studied, it seems like every time I read it again I learn more about it. If I don’t study and get into the Word how can I tell folks about it? How can I be armed in this world as a witness for God?

This has been weighing on my heart heavy this week that I don’t spend the time I need to in the Word to better KNOW it. It has convicted me to become more than just familiar with the Word, but to have it become a grapevine intertwined in my life in every aspect.

It is a blessing to have folks around that have been buried in the Word a lot longer than me to get more details and a better understanding of what God has so meticulously placed for each of us to discover. Each time I am guided to a new passage or chapter or book He is so loving as to reveal more about Himself and His plan for me in this world. I am thankful for such a loving God as to provide the blueprints to life that otherwise left to my own control would be a map with no end destination point.

Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Psalm 25:4-5

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you, says the LORD. Psalm 32:8

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. James 1:5

One Response to “Real or Fake?”

  1. Bill said

    Great thought and I have now been convicted as well! I should know so much more than I know now. There is one thing that I would like to add, though. Too many people think that just knowing the word is enough. I have known several people in my life that knew the word very well, but were not committed to applying it to their own lives. In fact, I was teaching a group of Sunday School teachers one time and I said that if you don’t leave time for application in your lessons, it is almost like you didn’t teach at all. One of these men came up to me after and told me that I must have been joking. I think about the scripture about a man that looks at himself in a mirror and walks away and forgets what he looks like. That is what knowlede without application is like.

Leave a Reply

 
