cJoshua1:5

Faded Rose

Posted by cjoshua15 on April 26, 2006

I took my morning check of the weather on the back porch this morning and took a cursory look at my rose bush. The bush has been in my yard since I planted it about 11 years ago. The odd thing is, the roses were yellow when I got it and for several years they continued to bloom yellow. About 4 years ago it just didn't bloom for a year. I cut it back, gave it special rose food and had pretty much given up on it as dead. It dried up and disappeared into the ground.

Oddly enough, the next year from out of nowhere this bush came up from the ground where the rose bush had been and began to sprout leaves all over, and vines were going in all directions. I got a trellis to help give it some direction and support. A few weeks went by and I saw flower buds beginning. Within a few days I had roses opening. The problem was they were no longer yellow, they were bright pink, almost red.

They are pretty, but not the yellow I bought it for. I got to thinking. Maybe the environment changed. Maybe the soil has somehow changed. Maybe some pink rose or flower cross pollinated with my yellow rose and the pink won. I don't know. But it reminds me of coming to know the Lord. We are planted and distinct and then something changes. We almost die out sometimes, then, when everyone thinks the cause is lost we are filled with the Holy Spirit and we rise up to Him and bloom differently than we did before.

I'm glad God didn't give up on me even when I had withered and my spirit had seemed to fade away and die. The love that He gave to bring me back to a life with Him to bloom in a different color is such a humble experience. What an awesome God to love such a sinner and save me in spite of my sin.

One Response to “Faded Rose”

  1. Dolan said

    I like the thought of the “trellis to help give it some direction and support”. God gives us a spiritual trellis via the Holy Spirit and the written Word. The fruit we produce after God prunes us and gives us Holy nutrients is not the same fruit we produced before. Thank God for His love and patience.

Leave a Reply

 
